If you no longer want to manage a YouTube channel, you can permanently delete it and wipe all of its videos, comments, and playlists from the platform. Deleting your YouTube channel is a separate action from your main Google Account—meaning you can safely delete your channel while keeping your Gmail, Google Drive, and Google Photos entirely intact.
How to Delete Your YouTube Channel
Because this action is permanent, it is highly recommended that you use Google Takeout to back up any videos you want to keep before proceeding.
- Go to YouTube.com on a desktop browser and sign in to the channel you want to delete.
- Click your profile picture in the top-right corner.
- Select YouTube Studio from the dropdown menu.
- In the left-hand sidebar of the Studio dashboard, click Settings (the gear icon at the bottom).
- In the Settings pop-up, click on Channel, then click the Advanced settings tab.
- Scroll all the way down to the bottom of the window and click Remove YouTube content.
- You will be redirected to a new page and asked to enter your Google password to verify it is really you.
- Click the option that says I want to permanently delete my content to expand the section.
- Check the confirmation boxes acknowledging that all your videos, playlists, subscriptions, and comments will be permanently erased.
- Click the blue Delete my content button.
- As a final safety check, YouTube will ask you to type in your email address or channel name to confirm. Type it in and click Delete my content one last time.
The deletion process begins immediately, but if you have a massive library of videos, it may take a few minutes or hours for the channel to completely vanish from YouTube search results across the globe.