When you share a Google Doc, Sheet, or Slide and give someone “Editor” permissions, they can do more than just change the text. By default, Editors in Google Workspace also have the ability to change permissions for other users and even share the document with entirely new people.
If you are working on a sensitive document and want to ensure that only you can control who has access to it, you must disable this default setting.
How to Restrict Editors from Sharing and Changing Permissions
You can only change this setting if you are the owner of the document or have been explicitly granted permission to manage access.
- Open your Google Doc on a desktop computer. (This setting cannot be changed from the mobile app.)
- Click the blue Share button in the top right corner of the screen.
- In the “Share with people and groups” dialog box, click the Settings gear icon in the top right corner of the pop-up.
- Look for the option labeled Editors can change permissions and share.
- Uncheck the box next to this option.
Your changes are saved automatically. You can now click the back arrow and close the sharing dialog.
What Happens When This is Disabled?
Once you uncheck this box, anyone you have added as an Editor will still be able to edit the document’s contents, leave comments, and make suggestions. However, the “Share” button will be restricted for them.
If an Editor attempts to share the document, they will be prompted to send a request to you (the owner) instead. You will receive an email notification asking you to approve or deny their request to grant access to a new user.
Taking a few seconds to disable this setting is one of the easiest ways to maintain strict control over your sensitive documents and prevent unauthorized viewing or editing.